December 16, 2019

City Announces Scholarship Winners for 2020

The Leadership, Youth, and Respect in Kwinana (LyriK) Educational Scholarships award ceremony, held on Friday, 6 December at the Zone Youth Space, awarded sixteen local youths scholarships for the 2020 school year.

For over a decade, the City of Kwinana and the LyriK program sponsors Aloca and Coogee Chemicals have offered scholarships, to assist Kwinana’s young people to transition through their schooling.

Scholarship Winners
2020 Educational Scholarship Recipients

Mayor Carol Adams said the City values the importance of education, and the scholarships were about providing the youth of Kwinana with the best opportunities possible.

“The LyriK Educational Scholarship program is a fantastic initiative that highlights exceptional youth in Kwinana and fosters their development to go on and ach

“The program received 47 applications this year which an assessment panel had the difficult task of narrowing down to the final 16 candidates,” she said. ieve greater success.”

Each year the LyriK Educational Scholarship program gains fantastic support from parents, teachers, community members and most importantly, from the youth of Kwinana.

The LyriK is a City of Kwinana program, sponsored by Alcoa and Coogee Chemicals.

For more information on the LyriK Program, visit   


2020 Educational Scholarship Recipients:

Entering Year 7

  • Madeleine Walsh
  • Snow LI
  • Ava Cuffe-Hodges
  • Joel Barwise

Entering Year 11

  • Venessa Figredo
  • Sara Goricanec
  • Joshua Comben
  • Katrina De Oro

Entering Year 12

  • Emily Phillipe
  • Shaun Pereyra
  • Kaitlyn Stott
  • Jimmy Stidworthy

Continuing on to Further Education

  • Emily Felstead
  • Chantelle Carr
  • Kai Best
  • Joshua Figredo



Media Contacts: