Printer Friendly Version

In addition to, Alcoa is an active participant in and uses social media to communicate information about the company. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and LinkedIn are powerful tools that allow us to connect with our customers, investors, potential employees and fans.

Alcoa on FacebookAlcoa on Facebook
Alcoa on LinkedInAlcoa on LinkedIn
Alcoa on TwitterAlcoa on Twitter
AlcoaTV on YoutubeAlcoaTV on Youtube

May 8, 1998

Hugh M. Morgan Elected To Alcoa Board of Directors Sir Arvi Parbo and Forrest N. Shumway Retire from Alcoa Board

PITTSBURGH, Pa.--May 8, 1998-- Hugh M. Morgan, managing director and chief executive officer of WMC Limited, a global mineral resources company based in Australia, has been elected to the Board of Directors of Alcoa. Mr. Morgan's three-year term begins immediately. Retiring from the Board are Sir Arvi Parbo and Forrest N. Shumway. Sir Arvi, chairman of WMC Limited, has served as a director since 1980, and Mr. Shumway, retired chairman of the executive committee of AlliedSignal Inc., was first elected to the Alcoa Board in 1982.

Biographical information on Mr. Morgan: Mr. Morgan, 57 years old, joined WMC as executive director in 1976, became managing director in 1986 and assumed the additional post as chief executive officer in 1990. Prior to joining WMC, Mr. Morgan was director of marketing and finance for North Broken Hill Limited.

Mr. Morgan has been a director of Alcoa of Australia Limited since 1977. Alcoa of Australia, the world's largest alumina producer, is owned by Alcoa and WMC Limited. Mr. Morgan is also a member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia. In addition, he is vice president of the Australia Japan Business Co-operation Committee, vice chairman of the International Council on Metals and the Environment, president of the Australian German Association, a trustee of The Asia Society and chairman of the Asia Society AustralAsia Centre.

Mr. Morgan has been the recipient of numerous awards and distinctions including being named Officer of the Order of Australia (A.O.) in 1987 for service to the minerals industry and to the arts. He is also affiliated with several industrial and nonindustrial associations and government entities.